Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ecarg_124
Helper I
Helper I

Still getting incorrect sum

Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to Power BI/DAX. Have read multiple articles/watched videos on how to address Incorrect sums, but not sure what I'm doing wrong. I've seen solutions that would use SUMX & SUMMARIZE but still couldn't make it work. Really desperate as it has been months already... Hoping for your help! 

I need to get the Region subtotal, as well as the Grand total of "segment mix" as seen in table. Formula is a bit complex, but see below:

REGIONSEGMENTSegment Mix
Region 1 Subtotal                    (6.33)
Region 1Segment 1                   (0.92)
Region 1Segment 2                   (0.92)
Region 1Segment 3                      0.11
Region 1Segment 4                   (4.60)
Region 2 Subtotal                    (0.01)
Region 2Segment 1                   (0.04)
Region 2Segment 2                   (0.06)
Region 2Segment 3                   (0.14)
Region 2Segment 4                      0.23
Region 3 Subtotal                       0.07
Region 3Segment 1                   (0.03)
Region 3Segment 2                   (0.05)
Region 3Segment 3                      0.00
Region 3Segment 4                      0.14
Grand total                    (6.27)

Segment mix = ( (Volume / Total Region Volume ) -  (LY Volume / LY Total Region volume) ) *

( (Revenue / unit) - ( Total Region Revenue / Total Region Volume ) ) *
                         (LY Total Region volume / LY Grand Total Volume) 

Here's my formula:

SEGMENT MIX FORMULA = 
IF (HASONEVALUE (SEGMENT),
    Segment mix,

SUMX (Distinct (SEGMENT), 
        Segment mix)
)