cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mazacini
Frequent Visitor

How to restrict table load to records with key field already present in existing table

Hi PowerBI newbie here! I've loaded a fact table of invoices. I want to load a customer table, but only for those customers that have an invoice record in the invoice table. I'm thinking of something that would apply a "where exists" type condition to the customer table load. Any suggestions?
14 REPLIES 14
Super User IV
Super User IV

Re: How to restrict table load to records with key field already present in existing table

If this is SQL Server and you have the ability to submit SQL code for a query or have someone create a view or stored procedure, you could do this in straight-up SQL join. Otherwise, @ImkeF might have some suggestions for you. You could look at doing a Merge query, for example in Power Query. Essentially import your customer table and then merge it with correct type of merge with your invoices table.

---------------------------------------

Not the Power BI thought police...

I have NEW book! 
DAX Cookbook from Packt
Over 120 DAX Recipes!
Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Mazacini
Frequent Visitor

Re: How to restrict table load to records with key field already present in existing table

Thanks Greg.

The tables in question are in csv format.

I am a Qlikview user, and have been accustomed to load only relevant records, where possible, from my dimension tables ie I've excluded non-relevant data from the model altogether.

So I was wondering if there is an equivalent option in PowerBI.

I can see that the merge option should work from a modelling point of view, but I still would have a pile of non relevant customer info hanging around the model.

If you follow.

Highlighted
Super User IV
Super User IV