Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Mazacini
Frequent Visitor

How to restrict table load to records with key field already present in existing table

Hi PowerBI newbie here! I've loaded a fact table of invoices. I want to load a customer table, but only for those customers that have an invoice record in the invoice table. I'm thinking of something that would apply a "where exists" type condition to the customer table load. Any suggestions?
14 REPLIES 14
jcampbell474
Helper IV
Helper IV

Yet another Qlikview developer asking for help 🙂

For those who might not understand what we need / are looking for.  I'll try to explain it.

My Qlikview development primarily contains SQL.  Once my SQL is ready, I place it into the load script and Reload the application.  It executes the SQL and loads the table(s).  

In the example, below, the LOAD snippet is Qlikview's preceding load function.  Users can load from their data source, then further transform the data using Qlikview's proprietary syntax/function.  It compares values in the EmpID field to values in the previously loaded EmpID2 field and loads records where they match. 

Keep in mind that all of this happens during the load.  Nothing exists or is committed until the entire load script is successfully finished.  When it's done, data will exist only for those employees in the initial table (EmpID2).  This is a VERY valuable function when loading from multiple servers...especially for huge data sets.  It's fast and efficient.

Adherence:
LOAD
  Date(date)&'|'&EmpID as %DateEmpKeyAdherence
, num(adhPct) as adhPct
WHERE EXISTS (EmpID2,EmpID);

SQL SELECT
  cast(date as date) date
, Upper(EmpID) AS EmpID
, adhPct
FROM DB.dbo.Adherence
Where cast(date as date) >= '1/1/2020';