Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

dan_evans_ngn
Regular Visitor

How to model this - date fields in two tables, more complicated than this usually is?

Hi,

I'm new to BI but have a reasonable background in data and databases. I'm trying to build something to help me explore the relationships between gas pipe failure data and soil types, slicing/filtering based on pipe attributes and/or failure attributes, to give a normalised failure rate in failures per km of pipe, for different soil types, over time.

I've used GIS to intersect my pipe features with the soil polygons, and my repair locations with the soil polygons, so I have two intersection tables that relate by a common ID to both the pipes and the repairs.

Where it gets complicated is that the repair data goes back over a decade, and the pipe network has changed over that time as pipes are replaced etc.

So my pipes dataset is actually several yearly extracts with attributes that I've calculated to give each pipe a start date and an end date. I can easily query this dataset on a particular date (start date < desired date and end date > desired date) and get the population of pipes that were live on that date.