Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

david_busint
Frequent Visitor

Unable to test row level security in Power BI Service - Permission Required

Hi all,

I've recently begun to have issues with reports with RLS not letting me 'Test as role'. It used to work fine but all of a sudden I've started to get this 'Permission required' message coming up. I'm a workspace admin, the dataset owner, a pro user, and have access to the app for these reports so there is no reason why Power BI Service has suddenly decided I no longer have permissions for the underlying dataset. Once I close that error window I just get the fabric load icon with the progress bar stuck at around 30% and none of the links on the page work when clicked. I have to reload the page to do anything. 

I deleted and republished one of the reports earlier in the week and it let me 'Test as roles' again only for the 'Permission required' message to start appearing this afternoon when I've attempted to 'Test as role'. I've even tried adding myself again on the dataset Manage Permissions page to no effect. This is affecting several reports which sit in their own workspaces but not all of them for some reason. 

I'd prefer to not have to delete and republish reports on a weekly basis in order to be able to test row level security is working as expected in Power BI service. Has anyone else had this issue and found a solution? I've checked the 'Get Help' guidance and none of that helps. 

Permission.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Domantas_G
Regular Visitor

I managed to resolve it by publishing additional test report (live connected to the same data model with RLS that I want to test in the first place) to the same workspace and that fixed the issue for some reason. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Domantas_G
Regular Visitor