Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Report content not visible - dataset from a different workspace

Hi again,

So our organisation is fairly new to BI Service. All employees have a Pro licence as part of their Microsoft subscription (I'm not a techie so don't know the full details).

We have set up a number of workspaces, and a number of different apps. Each workspace has a few datasets. All security for datasets and apps appear to have entire organisation as viewers/ App (Reshare) etc. I cannot see an issue there, when both datasets, workspaces and apps have the same permissions.

Dataset Permisison.JPG

App Permisison.JPG

So "workspace 1" has reports in it using a dataset from "workspace 2" (along with reports from its own datasets) and the reports are published to dashboards, through to App 1.

"Workspace 2" has reports in it using a dataset from "workspace 1" and the reports are published to dashboards, through to App 2.

App 1 was deployed in January 2020. App 2 was deployed in March 2020.

All reports in App 2 are viewable by the entire organisation. But, our users cannot see the content of the new dashboards in App 1 that use a dataset from App 2 due to permissions:

Cannot See.jpg

I took a copy of the report and saved it to workspace 2 (where its dataset is), republished dashboards and apps, and everyone can see the contents in App 2.

I'm at a loss, don't know if it's "new workspace" vs "classic workspace" or maybe a tenant setting. Any ideas would be very helpful.

Thanks everyone.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have just found out that all of our workspaces are new. So it's just the permissions I'm struggling with.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

hi  @Anonymous