Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

RLS with Multiple Reports using Shared Dataset

Hi All,

Ever since the new workspace experience went GA my team and I have been big fans of the shared dataset feature. We've been working to replace disparate reports that are replicating the same data over and over to shared datasets that ensure consistency and leave less to maintain.

I've encountered an issue with two reports. For context, I'm an analyst in the technical support division of a software company. Support data is considered confidential when any personal identifiable information (PII) is present (such as a name, email, phone or ID) but not when it's based on non-PII like product name or version.

Report "One" sits in one app and presents support data based on each agent that owned it in technical support. Only agents and their managers have access, and there is RLS that only allows agents to see their own data and managers can only see their direct reports.

Report "Two" sits in another app and contains the same support data, however it is presented based on product, has no reference to the person who handled it. Everyone in the company can see this data since it has no PII.

The underlying datasets in both are identical and massive. However, I encounter an issue with RLS. There is one rule for restrictive RLS in report ONE and another with no RLS. There are users who exist in both apps but because I can't identify what app the user is accessing I can't prevent both rules from triggering when a user is logged in.

Any ideas on how to overcome this?

Here is the error that is being encountered:

error messageerror message

Here is a simplified representation of my data model:

sample data modelsample data model

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable