Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

justinlane
Regular Visitor

Power BI - Publish Reports from a remote SQL Server

Hi,

I am new to Power BI. I have just downloaded Power BI Desktop to my PC and I have also looked at Power BI Service (which seems to be a browser version of the same thing). I can RDP to our SQL Server.

We have an ERP software that runs off an SQL Server Database that is sometimes installed in a cloud server (not Azure) and sometimes installed on-premises. We can RDP to the SQL Server and run queries in MS SQL Server Management Studio. Our users need remote access to reporting.

All the "how to" demos show Power BI connecting directly to MS SQL server (as if users can just RDP to our SQL server and create reports). That is great for a developer. But our users do not have access to the SQL Server directly.

For the purposes of this question - let's say we have the following tables:
* transaction header table (InvoiceNo / StoreID / TransDate / Customer / CustomerType )
* Line Item table (Stock Code / Description / StockCategory / Qty / UnitCost / UnitPrice / Total)

And say we have a stored procedure called "SalesSummary" that we want to use for pivot reporting, or charts or analysis or BI Reporting etc.
And this stored procedure returns summary data of: StoreID / TransDate / CustomerType / StockCode / StockCategory / SumOfQty / SumOfCost / SumOfTotal
Say we have 20,000,000 records for this result set over the last 5 years of data.
And say our users want to pick and choose fields from this result to analyze: pivot or report or chart etc.

Question 1: How can I setup Power BI to access this SQL Server database so that users can access the Power BI reports from anywhere (where the users are not able to RDP or connect directly to the Server running the SQL Server Database)?