Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DavidS524
Helper I
Helper I

Insert table option is not available when connecting to a dataset in Excel

Hello everyone,

I am looking to take advantage of the feature for connecting to a Power BI dataset directly from Excel Desktop, and then creating a table. This feature was announced back in August of 2023 here. There are further details as well as requirements in the MS documenation here. I know this is possible when doing it the other way around. That is, starting from a dataset in the PBI Service and then exporting to Excel. However I specifically want our end users to use the method in the above post and documenation.

I am a tenant admin for my organization so I have thoroughly checked each of the requirements and confirmed that I am meeting each of them. 

1. Users can work with Power BI semantic models in Excel using a live connection is enabled.
2. Allow XMLA endpoints and Analyze in Excel with on-premises datasets is enabled.
3. My version of Excel is: Microsoft® Excel® for Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2302 Build 16.0.16130.20848) 64-bit. When I open Excel I am opening it locally. Not via the web.

4. I am a tenant admin and I do have build access on the given datasets.

5. I have a Pro license and we have a P3 Premium capacity.

The first image below is from the MS documenation and shows the Insert Pivot Table and Insert Table options available. It also shows the ability to review the tables in the dataset and the reports using the dataset.

2024-01-04_14-59-44.jpg

When I follow the same steps I do not see these options. If I click on one of the available datasets it automatically creates a pivot table. Any ideas for what I am missing here? Thank you!

2024-01-04_15-00-22.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Check this link;