Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

AndreaLee1212
Helper I
Helper I

Difference to have a workspace in a PRO license mode and a PRO user?

Hi all,

Struggling to understand the difference of licenses as a User and in a Workspace:

What is the difference when someone assign an external user for instance a PRO license or even me buy a PRO license or a PPU and a workspace being in a PRO or PREMIUM PER USER license mode ? 

I'm very confused about this... because if I'm a PRO user I can't view reports in a workspace under a PPU license mode, am I'm correct ? But what if I'm a PPU user can I see workspace in a PRO license mode ?

AndreaLee1212_0-1673542063749.png

The second doubt that I have is : let's say that I want to use AI advanced analytics ( ML, text analytics in Desktop), do I need to be a PPU user and publish to a Premium Capacity Workspace ? Or I can do this as a PRO user ? 

Please any help on this will be much appreciated ...

Andrea

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
djurecicK2
Super User
Super User

Hi @AndreaLee1212 ,

Yes, if you have a Pro license, you cannot access content in a PPU workspace. If you have a PPU license, you can access content in a pro workspace (assuming the correct permissions in both secenarios).

For your second question take a look at this article:

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/transform-model/desktop-ai-insights#enabling-text-analyti...

Cognitive Services are supported for Premium capacity nodes EM2, A2, or P1 and above. Cognitive services are also available with a Premium Per User (PPU) license. 

View solution in original post

v-binbinyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @AndreaLee1212 ,