Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

abed-dagangan

Can't see shared workspace

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI, so I started my trial for 60 days both for Power BI and Microsoft 365 (to access user management).

My purpose is to share a new created workspace (Project A) to people outside our organization.

Let's say my email is user_a@aaa.com and there's another user outside our organization (Toni) with an email user_b@bbb.com.

I have created a workspace (Project A) and successfully add user_b@bbb.com to this workspace as a viewer.

However, Toni can't see Project A under 'Workspaces'.

Did I miss some steps?

Need your help on this.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xiandat-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @abed-dagangan ,

To share a workspace with an outside user, you need to invite the guest into your organization before you can add them to the workspace.
If you do not have a Premium license, both you and the people you add to this workspace will need a Professional license so that you can access this workspace.

If you have a Premium license, you can assign this workspace to Premium capacity in the workspace settings. You can then add people to it who do not have a professional license. However, these people can only have read-only permissions in this workspace as the Viewer role. If they need a higher role, they will also need a professional license.

Therefore, whether you need more Professional or Premium licenses depends on the role you want others to play in the workspace and how you want to distribute content from the workspace. Premium licenses are not always required.

Below is the official link will help you:

Create a workspace in Power BI - Power BI | Microsoft Learn