Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

tsingla
Regular Visitor

fitler in calculate not returning accurate aggregation on filtered data only

Hi,

I am new to powerbi and started using the tool only ~2 weeks ago. I am on Mac and my company did not approve for virtual machine. Developing in powerbi service. So very limited learning material for me. I simply trying to countdistinct accounts where retention_status flag = Retained. Below DAX code. but it is returning data without filter "Retained" working on it. See code below. Addressable accounts is coming out to be same as retained accounts. I have checked there are not filters applying to visual. Where am i going wrong. What am i missing? There are no spaces in retention_status data. 

addressable_accounts = DISTINCTCOUNT(tsingla_non_msp_corp_retention_analysis_fy2023_aug3[ACCOUNTID])

retained_accounts = CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(tsingla_non_msp_corp_retention_analysis_fy2023_aug3[ACCOUNTID]), FILTER(datalake_core_sam_account_scores_history, datalake_core_sam_account_scores_history[RETENTION_STATUS]="Retained"))
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

You'd need to show us the model. But the datalake_core_sam_account_scores_history table isn't filtering the tsingla_non_msp_corp_retention_analysis_fy2023_aug3 table. 

Also, a better measure most of the time would be this:

test =
CALCULATE (
    DISTINCTCOUNT ( tsingla_non_msp_corp_retention_analysis_fy2023_aug3[ACCOUNTID] ),
    datalake_core_sam_account_scores_history[RETENTION_STATUS] = "Retained"
)

That is only filtering 1 column, [RETENTION_STATUS] not the entire table. As a rule, never filter a table. Filter a column. 

But that still won't work if the table Retention Status is in a table that is filtering your fact table.