Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

akito
Frequent Visitor

Why I cant see my Direct Query tables in Power Query - (Power BI Dataset)

Hi All,

I am not able to see tables in Power Query that are from Direct Query stoarge connection that is linked to Live Power BI Dataset. I only can see my tables from excel as I have mixed storage connection (Direct Query and Imported).

I am trying to create a new table from tables (Append or Merge) that are in Direct Query storage. 

Note: I am pretty new in Power BI -  who is trying to switch from Tableau to Power BI 🙂

akito_0-1646195963501.pngakito_1-1646195973142.png

akito_2-1646196043054.png

Regards,

Akito

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @akito ,

In Power BI, you only see tables in the Data section if those tables are going to be stored in a static state (i.e. IMPORTed) within your report. This Data screen is showing you all the tables/data that are stored within your report after refresh.

With Direct Query, no tables/data are stored within the report after refresh, so you can't see them here.

When using Direct Query, each of your report visuals generates its own SQL query specific to what that exact visual needs to show and sends it directly to the source when the report loads and/or when filters/slicers are changed. This allows for reports to display near-live data in visuals, but also significantly restricts the transformations and general control/visibility of the data between the source and visuals.

If you are happy to display data that is not up-to-the-second live, then you should be using IMPORT as your data acquisition method, which allows you full control over data structures and transformations.