Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

philthomasp

IF statement issue

Hello,

I'm new to Power Query, and I am working on a formula where I will create a Custom Column, and what I need the new column to provide is the following:

subtract 2 date columns and return the number of days

IF the result is less than 0, return 0, otherwise return the vaule

So, based off what I've read, this is my current formula:

=IF ([Closed On.1]-[Due On.1] < 0, 0, [Closed On.1]-[Due On.1])

This gives me no syntax errors, but when I close the window, PQ immediately gives me a "The name 'IF' wasn't recognized.

What is happening that would cause the error even if my syntax is correct?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Thejeswar
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @philthomasp ,

The Issue could be because subtracting two dates would return a date and not a number to use with a relational operator <. So alternatively create a measure having DATEDIFF function in it as shown below

Measure = IF(DATEDIFF(MAX(Table3[Drte2]),MAX(Table3[Dte1]),DAY) < 0, 0, DATEDIFF(MAX(Table3[Drte2]),MAX(Table3[Dte1]),DAY))

Rgds, 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Thejeswar
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @philthomasp ,

The Issue could be because subtracting two dates would return a date and not a number to use with a relational operator <. So alternatively create a measure having DATEDIFF function in it as shown below

Measure = IF(DATEDIFF(MAX(Table3[Drte2]),MAX(Table3[Dte1]),DAY) < 0, 0, DATEDIFF(MAX(Table3[Drte2]),MAX(Table3[Dte1]),DAY))

Rgds, 

Nathaniel_C
Super User
Super User

Hi @philthomasp ,
Try "if" in m language which is what Power Query uses. Or try using a conditional column rather than a custom column.
Let me know if you have any questions.