Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to migrate data

Hello all

I first want to say that I am a complete beginner at this. Any and all advice and/or external reading material you can give me is greatly appreciated.

So I have been given data that represents end-of-day inventory records for a supply plant. The data is separated by plant into tables (5 total). In each of the tables (they're sharepoint lists), there is a date column and then two columns for each "bin" in the plant, namely product and quantity. It ends up as like 40ish columns in each table. I understand that this is impractical for working with Power BI, so I would like to transpose my data.

I would like to end up with a single table in which I have the columns: date, plant, bin, product, and quantity. Unfortunately I am quite inexperienced in power BI and I don't know how write a formula to calculate this table from the 5 separate sharepoint lists.

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Jimmy801
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello @Anonymous 

first of all you need to normalize your sharepoint lists. It means that the information of your bin is not in a column, but in a column name, or am I wrong? This probably can be achieved by using a Table.Unpivot. After that you have also to add a new column that identifies your list-name (plant information). Maybe some filtering is also needed, depending if your list contains also oder data and you need to find only the last version. After that you can combine your 5 transformed table into 1 table. Here a short example of a possible normalization, but without any knowledge of your data, it's not possible to make any serious proposal. 

This code was generated only by using the GUI, so it was not even needed to write m-code.

let