Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Regular Visitor

How to create a parent child hierarchy using PATH when having data quality issues

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI and making queries so I hope I can get some help here.

I want to visualize data from Azure DevOps in power bi. To do so I have created an analytics view in DevOps which I then connect to using online services. The data I want to visualize are work items that is ordered hierarchically in Azure DevOps. 

After some searching I found that using the PATH function seems to be the best way to recreate this parent child hierarchy in Power BI. In case anyone has a better suggestion than using PATH, please let me know 🙂 

But when I use the path function i run into problems that seems to be due to poor data quality in the DevOps data. I.e. "parent work items" doesn't exist as own "work items", see below:

path error.PNG

Now, since I export all work items from DevOps I find it strange why this error even happen, but after spending a few hours trying to troubleshoot the export view from DevOps I would now rather have a solution to take care of the issue on Power BI side.

So the solution I'm looking for now is that in case a parent work item doesn't exist as its own work item, I would either rather empty the parent work item column or create a new work item just so that I can use the path functionality and then continue to build up the parent child hierarchy in Power BI....

Please help a rookie 🙂

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Regular Visitor

Hello again,

I found the solution myself so in case anyone would be interested for the future, here it is.

I used a two-step approach which is higlighted below: