Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

d474boy
Helper I
Helper I

How do I create a DateTime field from a Date field and a Number field

Hi everyone, this is my first ever post to the Power BI Community Forums

I am also very new to Power Query and the M Language.

Anyway, I have a query that is pulling out two fields which are 'Completed Date' and 'Completed Time' but the Time is just a decimal number. The Decimal number is something like 10.3 but this acually means 10:30.

I want to combine the Date and Number into a single column called Completed_DateTime. In Excel this would be as simple as the following formula:

Completed_DateTime = Completed_Date + INT(Number) / 24 + 100 * MOD(Number,1) / 24 / 60

The best I have come up with in Power Query is:

#"Add Temp End_DateTime col" = Table.AddColumn(#"Remove 1-1-1900 Dates", "Actual_End_DateTime", each [Actual_End_Date]),
#"Change Type of temp col to DateTime" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Add Temp End_DateTime col",{{"Actual_End_DateTime", type datetime}}),
#"Create the real End_DateTime" = Table.AddColumn(#"Change Type of temp col to DateTime", "Actual_End_DateTime2", each [Actual_End_DateTime] + #duration(0,Number.RoundDown([Actual_End_Time]),Number.RoundDown(100*Number.Mod([Actual_End_Time],1)),0)),

Surely it could be done in a single step. For example, can I create

6 REPLIES 6
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @d474boy 

Add a custom column

Text.Combine
({
   Text.From(Date.AddDays([Completed Date], Int64.From(
    [Completed Time]/24)), "en-US"), 
   Text.From(Text.Combine
       ({Text.From(Int64.From([Completed Time]), "en-US"),
         Text.From(Int64.From(100*Number.Mod([Completed Time],1)), "en-US")}, ":"),
    "en-US")}, 
":")

Capture14.JPG

Best Regards
Maggie

Community Support Team _ Maggie Li