Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kazuma6666
Helper II
Helper II

From one record to multiple records (enumerate dates)

Hello there,

I am a beginner in Power BI.

I have a membership table (from Dynamics), and need to do reporting on it. Users will for example ask "How many members of this type do I have in 2021?".

We have multi year membership also (1-6 years). So in the table we have "date begin", "date end".

For the user to be able to ask for a specific year, as far as I know, I need to have multiple lines for each multi-year membership.

In the past I would do this in access, and create a new table. For example, a member from 2018 to 2022 will have 5 lines, one for each year. As access has more and more problems, I have to stop using it.

How can I do the same in PowerBI? I basically need to enumerate each year between "date begin" and "date end", then add a line for each year.

Example:

Source

membership1    01-01-2018          01-12-2022

Destination

membership1    2018

membership1    2019

membership1    2020

membership1    2021

membership1    2022

Thanks in advance for your time.

PS: this is the first of about a 100 queries I need to do for my membership reporting. Should I ask my management for an SQL server to do the SQL part before sending to PowerBI? From what I have seen online, some really simple things in SQL seems to be completely arcane in Power query.

Regards,

Benjamin.

6 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@kazuma6666 This looks to me like Blowout! Blowout! - Microsoft Power BI Community

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)