Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

JoseCVM
Employee
Employee

Custom Connector and Navigation Tables

Hello,

I'm new to powerquery and dataconnectors, and I'm having trouble implementing the user flow I designed. Basically, it should go like this:

Authentication: KEY

TableName: FOO

It hits back to the database, and checks if tableFOO exists. If it does, it returns the data as normal. If it doesnt, it should direct the user to a navigation table of all available tables. This is where I'm having trouble. Once at the Navigation Table, things should look like this:

KEY

|  TABLE1

|  TABLE2

| TABLEN

And upon selecting a table, it should show only the table's schema with dummy data (So I dont retrieve all the data for all the tables). The problem is, all I seem to be able to do with the NavTable is load up the raw data. Once I click load, it tries to actually load the selected item. Is it possible to redirect this to another direct query? If so, how do I go about it, and are there any good examples of how this works? I suspect that this example goes in the direction I want, but I'm not sure.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
artemus
Employee
Employee

What you need to do is use Table.View, it is very powerful as it lets you reinterpate any code that transforms or drills into a table. In paticular you want to include a defination for the handler OnSelectRows:

View= (state) =>

Table.View(null, 

[

GetType = () => ...,

GetRows = () =>  ...,

OnSelectRows = (selector) =>
let
condition = RowExpression.From(selector),

in

@View(newState)

])

The selector will be the abstract syntax tree of the query. If the code returns an error, then the view is handled by default logic and the next higher view in the stack will be tried.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23