Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ciaranmcmullan

Aggregation

Please help me as I am new to Power Query and I dont know how to calculate this following:

I have to calculate the Whole Time Equivalent for 25,000 staff.  It is relatively easy when the person has one employment record however I have people with 2 and 3 employment records. and I have calculate the combined total per person.  I have attached a sample of what I am trying to achieve i.e. to calcultate the total WTE for each scenario ie a person may have one post (person A below) or multiple posts (persons B and C with 2 and  3 posts respectively)  This is most likely very easy but I have tried to do some research myself and can't find an answer.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Person A has 1 post. WTE for that post is 1.0 making a total of 1.0

Person B has 2 posts. WTE for post 1 is 0.5 and for post 2 0.3 making a combined total of 0.8

Person C has 3 posts. WTE for post 1 is 0.3, for post 2 is 0.5 and for post 3 is 0.2 making a combined total of 1.0

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@ciaranmcmullan Doesn't make the least bit of sense. 🙂

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WCkgtKs7PU3BU0lEyVIrVgQs4AQX0TDFEjJFFnLGLmGKIGCnFxgIA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Person = _t, WTE = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Person", type text}, {"WTE", type number}}),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Changed Type", {"Person"}, {{"WTE", each List.Sum([WTE]), type nullable number}})
in
    #"Grouped Rows"

Greg_Deckler_0-1664668878151.png

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea