Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

API JSON URL 10,000 row limitation

Hello,

I'm new to power BI and I want to know if this is possible.

We are pulling from a link, but the downside is we can only pull 10,000 row at a time.
How can I pull more than 10,000 row?

On the URL its only required me to put the Token Code and the required StartDate and End Date.tes223.PNG

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

If your API has the option to include a $skip or $skiptoken in the url, you can generate a list of numbers increasing by 10,000 up to the # of rows you have in the data, and then concatenate the value on that row into the web call.  Then expand the column of Tables to combine all the results.

List.Numbers(0,10, 10000) //for example

Convert to table, then add a custom column with the web.contents step (embedding the new number column in for the skip value.

Regards,

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube

Anonymous
Not applicable

@mahoneypat 
Okay i will ask the vendor if they allow skip

@PhilipTreacy 
I will test this out if it works.
Sometimes if i pull per day, the problem is sometimes 1 day of data is too much and sometims exceed the 10,000 limit. thats the one im concern. But ill get back to you, i will test it out.

Hi @Anonymous 

I've modified my original code to more closely match yours but you will still have to make some modifications.

let
    url= "https://jsonplaceholder.typicode.com/todos/1",

GetPage = (Page) =>

let
            Source = Json.Document(Web.Contents(url,
                [
                    Query = [