Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

alexbjorlig
Helper IV
Helper IV

Is it possible to load a DateTime column into Power BI from OData v4?

I'm a developer of an OData API, and also a Power BI maintainer.

When I return a column like this in OData:

<Property Name="Date" Type="Edm.DateTimeOffset"/>

Power BI always parses this as a "Date/Time/Zone".

Is it possible to specify a type, or format of the date, so Power BI will parse the column as "Date/Time"?

(If I could achieve this, it would be really great for query folding and incremental refresh).

2 REPLIES 2
alexbjorlig
Helper IV
Helper IV

Hi there, thanks for trying to help.

If I format the date as ISO 8601 "2024-05-30T12:00:00" format, I get the following error:

DataSource.Error: OData: Cannot convert the literal '2024-05-01T00:00:00' to the expected type 'Edm.DateTimeOffset'.

And yes, I can convert the column after loading the data into Power BI, but then I can't fold the query!

CleanShot 2024-05-16 at 16.59.05@2x.png

hackcrr
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi, @alexbjorlig 

You can specify the date format in the OData API response so that Power BI resolves the column to "Date/Time" instead of "Date/Time/Region". However, this may depend on the capabilities of the OData server and the way it handles data types and formats. Here are some suggestions on how to accomplish this:
Set the date format in ISO 8601 format without time zone offset:
<Property Name="Date" Type="Edm.DateTimeOffset"/> Instead of returning the date in a format, you can format the date as a string in ISO 8601 format (without a timezone offset). For example, "2024-05-30T12:00:00" represents a date without a time zone offset. This format is widely recognized and should be resolved by Power BI as "date/time" regardless of time zone.