Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

MRGMSR
Helper I
Helper I

Using Calendar Table to count records between two dates/times starting today and ending tomorrow

We have an incidents database that records each time a vehicle is "EARLY", "LATE', and "NORMAL or On Time" to a certain bus stop and we need to determine the percentage of time vehicles are early, late or normal based on the transit day. The problem is the transit day falls between 3 a.m. (today) and 4 a.m. (tomorrow) and I don't know how to filter for that. I created a calendar table then created two fields that capture the Start of the Transit Day and the End of the Transit day but have no idea how to use it, yes, I am very new to this, my apologies. 

I have a filter that I found on this forum that works great to capture the incidents within the normal 24 hour day starting at midnight and ending at midnight but I need to capture incidents between today @ 3 am and tomorrow at 4 a.m. as the "transit day" and have no idea how to incorporate the calendar table with this measure (I'm hoping it's as easy as plugging it in but please let me know what I could do to get to the end result):

Sum if Early = CALCULATE(COUNT([incident_name]),FILTER(OTP_Report_SQL,SEARCH("Early",[incident_name],1,0))))

I have the same filter for "LATE" and "NORMAL"

Here are the two tables I am working off. Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance, so much for your guidance!

Incidents_Table.PNGDatesTable.PNGsumifearlyfilter.PNG

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @MRGMSR,

There can be 2 totals

1. Sum of (Early + Normal + Late)
    • =CALCULATE(COUNT([incident_name]),FILTER(OTP_Report_SQL,OTP_Report_SQL[Incident_date_time]>=RELATED(Transit_Day_Time[StartofTransitDay])&&OTP_Report_SQL[sched_time]>=RELATED(Transit_Day_Time[EndofTransitDay])))