Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PeterVachon
Frequent Visitor

Trying to ma the difference between 2 columns in different tables in a measure

Hi, 

I have 2 tables 

1) Sales tables (daily)

2) Forecast tables (monthly)

(Both are link to my look up tables :  product, customer, calendar)

I am trying to have a measure that would help my compare the total per different caterogies (1st step is the SalesRep) 

But every measure i've tried only calculate totals and i cannot use my different filter

Ex :  Want to compare total of sales at the end of may per REP vs their forecast.   Then i'll want to compare client by client... etc... so it has to be dynamic based on the date. 

Any tips on how to write this ?  I am really new with Dax and struggling a bit here. 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@PeterVachon ,Can you share sample data and sample output in table format? Or a sample pbix after removing sensitive data.

Need to try with data

View solution in original post

v-yangliu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @PeterVachon ,

This is the data I created:

Sales tables:

v-yangliu-msft_0-1621928571398.png

Forecast tables:

v-yangliu-msft_1-1621928571400.png

look up tables:

v-yangliu-msft_2-1621928571404.png

Here are the steps you can follow:

1. Create measure.

alltoal =
var _select=
SELECTEDVALUE('look up table'[date])
return
CALCULATE(SUM('Sales tables'[amount]),FILTER(ALL('Sales tables'),'Sales tables'[Customer]=MAX('Sales tables'[Customer])&&'Sales tables'[Month]=MONTH(_select)))
Forecastamount =
var _select=SELECTEDVALUE('look up table'[date])
return
CALCULATE(SUM('Forecast tables'[Amount]),FILTER(ALL('Forecast tables'),'Forecast tables'[monthly]=MONTH(_select)&&'Forecast tables'[Customer]=MAX('Forecast tables'[Customer])))
Flag =