Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sum various columns based on a condition set upon another group of columns

Hi all,

I am relatively new to Power BI and am having issues working out how to filter and sum a set of columns based on the value in one slicer. It is rather difficult to explain the issue, therefore I would like to define my problem by giving the below example.

Lets say I have the following sets of data:

Event data

FlightDelay Reason 1Delay Reason 2Delay Reason 3Delay Amount 1Delay Amount 2Delay Amount 3
00023  63  
000319 93 
More Data

Delay Categories

CategoryCode
A1
A2
B3
B4
B5
B6
B7
C8
C9
C10

Now I would like the user to be able to filter one or more Categories and then calculated the total delay (at flight level) for all related delays and subsequently determine the number of flights that had less than 20 minutes delay.

For example if the user selected Category B (Codes: 3,4,5,6,7) then the data returned would be:

Event data (Filtered for Category B)

FlightDelay Reason 1Delay Reason 2Delay Reason 3Delay Amount 1Delay Amount 2Delay Amount 3Delay Total
00013851272 14
00023  63   63
0003Deleted
More Data

The total number of flights with a delay greater than 20 minutes would only be one as the delay minutes attributed to Delay Reason 2 are not included.

I have tried to create a relationships between Delay Categories (Table) and Delay Reason 1, Delay Reason 2 and Delay Reason 3. However Power BI will only allow me to keep one active at all times.

Please note that pivotting the table to show all delay reasons in 1 column did not work as I only wanted a flight to count once (Flight 0001 in the above example).

Please let me know if there is a simple solution.

3 REPLIES 3
v-chuncz-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@Anonymous,