Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

nevs77
Regular Visitor

Sorting issue in hierachy with childindex and multiple same names- (different elements)

Hello Cummunity,

I am currently struggling with a sorting problem in a hierarchy.

I have a master data table that also contains a hierarchy and also contains an order within a hierarchy node.

The hierarchy has actually been solved well. There are enough suggestions here and they all worked wonderfully.

But the sorting worries me.

In the Power Query in the query, I also have the correct order simply because of the iteration and the child index.
But after I insert the hierarchy into the matrix, Power Bi sorts the elements itself. I have tried to define the sorting of the individual elements in the table view. As with the month names sorted by month number. Unfortunately, I can't manage the sorting, as several people can have the same name. Streets can also have the same name. 

Is there a way to restrict the sorting so that all columns are sorted by an index column?

Does anyone have any ideas?

Many thanks to you already nowScreenshot 2024-04-26 165433.jpg

2 REPLIES 2
v-yangliu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi  @nevs77 ,

As far as I know, Power BI defaults to having just one separate index number for each row of values, or else when doing a Sort by column, there will be an error of one value having more than one index number, or else it will be sorted alphabetically

vyangliumsft_0-1714357812349.png

You can try changing the data to the following form so that each value is independent and the data is sorted alphabetically to achieve your desired result:

vyangliumsft_1-1714357812350.png

Notice: