Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

njkbr
Frequent Visitor

Show data from two tables related by many-to-many

Hi!

I am new to PBI and I have a hard time understanding if I can achieve what I want with PBI.

I have a set of data and know it is not the best structure for PBI as I do not have facts and dimensions.

I have several issues with ambiguity, but here is another issue with several many-to-many connections:

PBI connections issue (3).png

I can use one of Terms in my output, but I get an error if I try to show both Terms at once.

I found some similar issues on this Forum and they have solutions. However, the proposed solutions that I understand are not applicable in my case. And those that may be the solution for me - I do not understand fully. 

As I did not find an example with the same structure - I would be very thankful for some advice and help!

8 REPLIES 8
JGroothedde
Advocate II
Advocate II

Hi @njkbr ,

Have you tried setting the relationships to many-to-many and both directions instead of single?

JGroothedde_0-1706784299254.png

JGroothedde_1-1706784314633.png

JGroothedde_2-1706784704533.png

Honestly i think it might be better to take this opportunity to clean up your model and move to more of a star schema instead of going for many-to-many bi-directional relationships, since they will give you unexpected results in a lot of calculations. 

Hi @JGroothedde,

I have tried that, but it did not help:

image (2).png

Was that the only thing you did?

Based on your result, can it be the case that each of your 'main_id' has only one correspondence in both 'term1_main_link' and 'term2_main_link'?

And thanks for your advice, I also have several cases of ambiguity in connections like this one:

PBI ambiguity issue.png