Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GarryPope
Advocate I
Advocate I

Show Opposite to Cumulative VIsual

Hello Power BI Community,

I hope you can help please.

I'm new to Power BI so not sure I'm even asking the question correctly or using the right lingo, so apologies in advance. 

I have a visual where I add monthly values to a column, let's call it mycolumnname.

So the values I add are April = 10, May = 5, June = 5, July = 5 etc. 

I have a line chart showing this trend.

I also have a cumulative measure that shows the total numbers so April = 10, May = 15, June = 20, July = 25.

I used the below formula:

Cumulative Measure = CALCULATE(SUM('mytablename'[mycolumnname]) - , filter(ALLSELECTED('mytablename'),'mytablename'[mydatecolumnname]<=max('mytablename'[mydatecolumnname])))

This works perfect... But now for another visual I want to do the opposite of the formula above. I think opposite is the correct word. 

So in mycolumnname I'm now going to have the cumulative values rather than the monthly values, and I want to work out in my measure what each month value is.

The data I will add in mycolumnname is April = 10, May = 15, June = 20, July = 25.

My opposite cumulative measure will work out the monthly change between this month and last month from the values above, so April = 10, May = 5, June = 5, July = 5.

Hope that makes sense? Sorry if it's confusing, but as I said, I don't know the lingo so well. If anyone could help I'd greatly appreciate it. 

Thanks very much,

Garry

6 REPLIES 6
Jihwan_Kim
Super User
Super User

Picture1.png

Link to the pbix file 

If this post helps, then please consider accepting it as the solution to help other members find it faster, and give a big thumbs up.

Go to My LinkedIn Page

Hello @Jihwan_Kim,