Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Aussie_Dragon
Regular Visitor

Represent Different One to Many [Received Dates] on Same Timeline

Hello Everyone,

Apologies for the simple question, I am new to Dax.

Most of the learnings seem to cover Order examples, however, my question relates to scenarios where you have an enquiry which could have multiple issues associated with it.

Order examples generally have the same [date received] on the order line items, but on my learning example, the Issue [date received] may be different from the original Enquiry [Date Received].

Similarly, the Issue [Resolved Date] may be different within the Issue table.

The Problem:
My Date Calendar links to the Enquiry table on [Date Received], and the Enquiry links to Issue on Enquiry No.

However, the Issue visual uses the Enquiry [ Date Received ] rather than the Issue[ Date Received] (if the issue is still open) or Issue [Date Resolved] (if the issue has been resolved)

I looked at UseRealtionship, however, could not get it to work (I think because of the existing one to many relationship)

I think this is a really good example for learning and understanding DAX since it deals with time intelligence and a different scenario other than order details.

Better quality video here if the youtube one is not that great 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Here's a preliminary view of how the data model could be structured

lbendlin_0-1670180474804.png

Note that the relationship between Enquiry and Issues is inactive (and practically useless) since it would introduce ambiguity. It will be easier to use TREATAS in this scenario.

The main question is - what is your focus on?  Is it a calendar view  ("what happened this month?") or a entity view ("What happened to Enquiries over time?")

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7