Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RenateBK
Helper I
Helper I

Publishing Oracle data to Power BI without gaining direct access to the SQL database

Hello, 

To begin with, my apologies if I write anything incorrect, I am still new to Power BI and I'm not well versed in SQL and Oracle BI.

I need to connect the Oracle BI data to Power BI for cross-reporting. There has already been set up SQL codes for Oracle BI reporting so the specific parts of the data (that I need) is extracted from the SQL database into tables/datasets in Oracle BI. My wish is to extract the same data over to Power BI. 

The issue at hand: the SQL server/database includes highly sensitive data that I should not have direct access to, thus IT is very hesitant regarding directly linking me to the SQL database because of data protection/safety reasons.

Hence, my question is - is there a way to connect to Oracle BI/Oracle BI Reporting in a way where I can aquire the data they have in these reports without gaining full access to the original database where there is sensitive information? 

I know it is possible to do it by downloading the Oracle BI data as an Excel sheet and then uploading in the folder etc. However, my goal here is to automate the process as much as possible so that the data will automatically refresh at the given times instead of whenever I manually upload it. 

Thank you, 

Renate

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi, @RenateBK 

Thanks for your quick response !

When we use the fixed SQL statements, Power BI will send a SQL query statement by default, and will not send other queries to Oracle.And all the operations you do in Power Query will not cause query folding (that is, no statements other than the default query statement will be sent to the underlying data source).