Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Production demand matrix automatic refresh

Hello Power BI community,

I am no expert on this, and I am working on a matrix that I would like to refresh daily thru the server. I have managed to build the matrix manually, but since the header fields will be changing every day, am I afraid the table won't be able to find the new fileds. Is there anyway to assign the columns dinamically based on some sort of criteria?

Please take a the below exmple, hope I explain my self.

Thank you very much!

CustomerPart NumberBacklogD 07/21/2020D 07/22/2020D 07/23/2020D 07/24/2020D 07/25/2020D 07/26/2020D 07/27/2020
Custormer XXXXX365773300000000
Custormer XXXXX786326437480000480480480480
Custormer XXXXX65369823400000000
Client ZZZZZ43232400060000000
Client ZZZZZ4234324240000000432
Client ZZZZZ123334560000302402592
Client ZZZZZ2354533230000000432
Client DDDDD32132317040000028800
Client DDDDD4255430000000180
Client DDDDD434325554080129602160021600
Client DDDDD5345366660000086400

Desired matrix

rit1ju_2-1595127735740.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hey @Anonymous ,

I assume the error is raised because one of the steps that are applied during the transformation is referencing the column name, that will no longer be present as time moves on. 

You have to be aware of the following setting:
File --> Options and settings --> Options --> Global --> Data load --> Type Detection
I have chosen "Never detect ..."
This choice prevents that Power Query will change data types automatically after specific transformation steps. When I'm done with basic transformations I manually change the data type.

For this reason, the following screenshots of the applied steps may look a little different. The following screenshot shows all the necessary steps: