Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Daimy
Frequent Visitor

Multiple date columns in different tables

Hi all, I'm new to powerbi, so excuse me if this question has been asked several times. I couldn't find it in the threads.

I have four different tables: 

1. Projects - This is de main table i want to work from

2. Hours (associated with projects)

- This table has an selling amount (total value of hours made on project) on a specific date

3. Expenses (associated with projects)

- This table has an selling amount (total value of expenses made on project) on a specific date

4. Invoices (associated with projects)

- This table has an selling amount (total value of invoices sent on project) on a specific date

I would like to create a matrixtable where i can look at all the projects and then one timeline in where the three above tables are shown. Right now every table is connected to hes own date field. I want to have 1 datefield on project where are those tables are connected to. 

For example:

January                                  February

Projects | Hours | Expenses | Invoices |  Hours | Expenses | Invoices | 

A             1000        5000        0              5000       3000       14000

B              500         500          500           0             0             500 

The problem is that as soon as I add a datefield as a column to the matrix. Depending on which column I add, only one of the three values ​​is put in a timeline. And i want all three values to look at the same datefield. 

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

So you need to create a proper Calendar (Date) table and connect your Hours,Expenses,Invoices tables to it via Date field.

Here is an example how your model will look like:

ERD_0-1622789003617.png

ERD_1-1622789213404.png

Matrix: