Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MMartinez
Regular Visitor

Monthly percent change per customer per month

Hello,

I'm new to Power BI, but I think it's great.  I am trying to calculate monthly percent change per customer per month for three colums (monthly volume, monthly transaction count, monthly avg transaction amount)

I have a column the following columns within my table:

-Customer Name

-Month

-Year

-Monthly Volume

-Monthly Transaction Count

-Monthly Average Transaction Amount

-Month, Year

Any help would be much appreciated.  Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@MMartinez

We can use VAR to define a variable and it is local to the expression in which we define them. Make sure you don’t miss any bracket.

Monthly percent change per customer per month_5.jpg

Best Regards,

Herbert

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Welcome.  There is a lot to learn. To do this type of calc, you will need a calendar table. Read about that here 

http://exceleratorbi.com.au/power-pivot-calendar-tables/

If if you want to make fast progress, you could consider reading my book http://xbi.com.au/learndax   It will help you learn quickly and efficiently. 

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

I actually ordered your book yesterday and I expect it to to arrive soon.  Hopefully, I'll get to the point were I can figure this out on my own soon.  My data looks like the following and goes from Jan 2015 to Jun 2016:

Customer Name | Month | Year | Monthly Volume | Monthly Trans. Count | Monthly Trans Average

Client 1                  Jan        2015       20,000                 30                                  667

Client 2                  Jan        2015       10,000                 20                                  500