Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Modeling Large Dataset in Desktop

Hi,

I am just getting started with Power BI (self-taught) and I can't figure out how to model a dataset that I KNOW is going to be way too big for me to save to my laptop and then publish. I have a PPU license so I'm not too worried about how big it will be with all the data in it. I was hoping to build it by putting some filters into the model and then removing them after publishing but it seems I can't modify a published dataset without bringing it back onto my desktop (literally back to where I started). You would think a quick google search would get me 10 different ways to do it but I'm not finding anything. What's the trick?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous this can give you a good idea. Limit The Amount Of Data You Work With In Power BI Desktop Using Parameters And Deployment Pipelines - Chris Webb's BI Blog (crossjoin.co.uk)

👉 Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - @PowerBIHowTo

If my solution proved useful, I'd be delighted to receive Kudos. When you put effort into asking a question, it's equally thoughtful to acknowledge and give Kudos to the individual who helped you solve the problem. It's a small gesture that shows appreciation and encouragement! ❤️

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo

If my solution proved useful, I'd be delighted to receive Kudos. When you put effort into asking a question, it's equally thoughtful to acknowledge and give Kudos to the individual who helped you solve the problem. It's a small gesture that shows appreciation and encouragement! ❤