Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sprotson
Helper I
Helper I

Merge/Lookup Using Conditions

I am a complete newbie to Power BI but have some limited SQL knowledge, so please bare with me

My scenario is as follows

Table1 contains a column called type (1,2,3 etc)

Table2 contains 3 columns, Value (1,2,3 etc), DisplayValue (a, b, c, etc) and Code (Code1, Code2, Code3 etc)

I essentially want to lookup the type column from Table1 in Table 2 and return the DisplayValue column if they match and if the code is a certain value.  It would be preferable if type was replaced with DisplayValue, but I could cope with having both columns. I want to do it in Power Query, so I can then unpivot the date

In SQL I would do something like the following to join the tables and then select what columns I wanted to show

Select type, Value, DisplayValue, Code

From Table1

Inner join Table2 on Table1.type=Table2.value and Table2.Code = 'Code1'

I dont see any option in Power Query to merge tables on conditions.

I am hoping someone has come across this before and can offer a solution

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

@sprotson The way to do this is to

1. Filter your first table for the the condition you want.
  2. Then merge to the other table.

If you don't want your first table permenantly filtered this way, create a reference to it, then do the merge with your 2nd table to the referenced query.

If you would like more help, please give us some actual data so we can work through the code and show you what to do.

How to get good help fast. Help us help you.
How to Get Your Question Answered Quickly
How to provide sample data in the Power BI Forum

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!