Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Measure that calculates the filtered total with relationship between tables

Hi there, I'm quite new to PowerBI and I'm having an issue calculating a percentage inside a measure, and I've identified the problem, in the total value. 

I've two tables:
TABLE: SUMMARY

CategoryProductYearValue
AApples2018150
ABananas2018200
BStrawberries2018250
BCherries2018300
CMelons

CWatermelons2018400
AApples2019450
ABananas2019500
BStrawberries2019550
BCherries2019600
CMelons2019650
CWatermelons2019700

TABLE: GENERAL

CategoryYearTotal value
A

B20182000
C20182500
A20193000
B20193500
C20194000

I built a relationship many to many between tables using the Category variable.

The column GENERAL[Total value] contains the total value for category A, knowing that for table SUMMARY it's not mandatory to download in the database all products of category A => total value =\= SUM(SUMMARY[Value] with filter for category A.

I've a Slicer on Product level where for example I want to select Apples, Bananas and Strawberries only for Year 2018 and obtain a table as it follows:

ProductNumeratorDenominator
Apples1503500
Bananas2003500
Strawberries2503500

Where the Numerator is only the value of the Product in the table SUMMARY, instead the Denominator is the sum of the Total Value of the corresponding categories for filtered products (in this case I've products from category A and B, so is the some of Total Value of table GENERAL for categories A and B => then I can obtain a % as DIVIDE(Numerator; Denominator)

At the moment via measures, what I've achieved is the following:

ProductNumeratorDenominator
Apples1501500
Bananas2001500
Strawberries2502000