Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Logic for filter not working

Sorry if this is a simple question, I am still learning DAX. I am trying to do a filter, and the logic seems to be failing. I have a measure that under the current slicer calculates to [w_Selected] = "4th". I want to use that result to filter out all the countries that have w_quartile = "4th". Under my two commented out calcs, they sell to all be equal. [w_Selected] = "4th" returns True, and the number of rows I get from my filter when I filter on "4th" returns 29. However, when I filter on [w_Selected], I only get one (where I am expecting 29 again. Can anyone help point out where I am going wrong? Thanks a lot for help

Measure = 
//EXACT("4th", [w_Selected]) returns True
// COUNTROWS(FILTER(all(country_rankings), country_rankings[w_quartile]="4th")) returns 29
// COUNTROWS(FILTER(all(country_rankings), country_rankings[w_quartile]=[w_Selected])) returns 1

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
az38
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Anonymous 

try

count_filtered = 
var _w_Selected = [w_selected]
RETURN
CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(country_ranks), ALL(country_ranks), country_ranks[w_quartiles]=_w_Selected)

do not hesitate to give a kudo to useful posts and mark solutions as solution
LinkedIn

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous ,Can you share sample data and sample output in table format? Or a sample pbix after removing sensitive data.

Anonymous
Not applicable

I made a simple sample pbix at the following link: https://filebin.net/499kgity07ereogt