Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

khaledhikmat
Regular Visitor

Last 2 weeks sales in a direct query

Hi, I have data that looks smething like this in a direct query PowerBI:

pbi-sales.png

How can I get the revenue for the latest n weeks please? Thanks.

Regards,

Khaled

8 REPLIES 8
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@khaledhikmat In power bi desktop go to query editor (Edit Queries) -> and for the week column click on the dropdown icon and select only past two weeks. 

Sorry...I think I must have not have been clear! I meant i wanted a DAX expression like TOPn or RANK to dynamically pick up the latest two n weeks so I can show in a visualtion the revenue for the last n weeks. I am new to PowerBI and DAX ...I appreciate any pointer.

Thanks.

@khaledhikmat What I would do is create a calculated column as shown below and then use that column as a slicer on the report. Unfortunately I don't think there is a way currently to make top N value dynamic but you can using below DAX code it for as many weeks as you want and it may meet your requirements.

Capture.PNG

Ah...ok...I see. It does make sense I guess. So now it looks like this:

pbi-weeks.png

But I have 2 questions:

How can I sort the weeks based on a dimension that is not included in the visual i.e. week number?

How can I set the slicer to default to top weeks?

Thank you so much for your help. I appreciate it.

Regards

Hi @khaledhikmat

Based on my research, a chart visual can only be sorted based on the column you added to Axis or Value. That is to say, it is not allowed to sort the weeks based on a dimension that is not included in the visual.

2.PNG