Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

itspossible
Frequent Visitor

How to find rows associated with latest date value

Hello! I've tried my hand at a number of solutions offered in the forums for similar topics but haven't succeeded - mostly because I'm extremely new to DAX/Powerquery/M.

Basically, I have a table with facebook channel data, where each post on my page has several rows - one row per day the post was active. All I need is a table or way to parse this given table that only selects all unique posts (along with all the other columns associated with them) for the latest date. The latest date is different for each post, of course. Can someone please outline the steps required and the code to use in order to achieve this? I have attached sample table belowpowerbiForum.png

Basically, for each unique instance of "message" I only want to retain the latest date in the column "db_date". And to ensure all other columns carry through. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @itspossible

From the screenshot, it seems unique "post id" associated with each unique instance of "message", so i use "post id" as a test.

create a new table from your table

Table = FILTER(ALL(Table1),[date]=CALCULATE(MAX(Table1[date]),ALLEXCEPT(Table1,Table1[post id])))

Original table

7.png

New created table

8.png

Best Regards

Maggie

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @itspossible

From the screenshot, it seems unique "post id" associated with each unique instance of "message", so i use "post id" as a test.

create a new table from your table

Table = FILTER(ALL(Table1),[date]=CALCULATE(MAX(Table1[date]),ALLEXCEPT(Table1,Table1[post id])))

Original table

7.png

New created table

8.png