Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JD2301

Help linking tables please!

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to BI so looking for some help with what I think should be a simple task..

I have a 'Dispensations' table that shows a sites unique ID.
I have a 'Timebase' table which shows the site name.
I need to get the site name from the 'Timebase' table into the the 'Dispensations' table so I can refrence both the site and the site unique ID (along with a few other things).

This sounds simple and I imagine it is so please could anyone help me out? I've never used the measures before!

TIA.

JD.

4 REPLIES 4

you shouldn’t be looking to bring the name into the other table. You should join them on a common ID column, then they will work as if they were one.  Have a look at my article here. https://exceleratorbi.com.au/the-optimal-shape-for-power-pivot-data/

* Matt is an 8 times Microsoft MVP (Power BI) and author of the Power BI Book Supercharge Power BI.

Hi Matt,

Thanks for the reply and the info on the article, much appreciated.

The below info is from my dispensations table:

Disp.png

The 'Sin Format' column is the unique site ID.

Below is the info from my Timebase table:

timeGsite.png

What I am trying to do is filter the 'Dispensation Status' column in the Dispensations table to show only 'Temporary Dispensations'. There should be 168. I can do this fine so that the table shows 168 'Sin Format' numbers only. However there is no site name stated in this table so you are unable to see which number relates to which site. The site name is shown in the Timebase table in the 'Site Worked' column. 
When I drag the 'Site Worked' field into the table, for some reason instead of showing 168 sites, the table only shows about 50 instead of 168.