Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PatrickH
Regular Visitor

Grouping two columns with same data (for a stacked column chart)

Hello everyone,

I am new to Power BI and I am currently working on a stacked column chart. I believe that the data I am using is not structured correctly for the chart to work as intended. That is why I am looking for a way to group two columns into one like in this example I made in Excel:

ExampleExample

The goal of the chart is to compare the Planned and Committed Hours for each phase.

I tried to look for solutions on how to these changes in Power BI but could not manage to make it work.

Let me know if you need further information. Thanks for the help!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

Refer if this can help: https://radacad.com/pivot-and-unpivot-with-power-bi

Else Try to create a table like this and rename columns later

new table =
union(
summarize(table,name,table[commitment_phase1],table[commitment_phase2],"commitment/planned","commitment"),
summarize(table,name,table[planned phase 1],table[planned phase2],"commitment/planned","planned")
)

OR

new table =
union(
selectcolumns(table,name,"Phase 1" ,table[commitment_phase1],"Phase 2",table[commitment_phase2],"commitment/planned","commitment"),
selectcolumns(table,name,"Phase 1",table[planned phase 1],"Phase 2",table[planned phase2],"commitment/planned","planned")
)

Appreciate your Kudos. In case, this is the solution you are looking for, mark it as the Solution.
In case it does not help, please provide additional information and mark me with @

Thanks. My Recent Blogs -Decoding Direct Query - Time Intelligence, Winner Coloring on MAP, HR Analytics, Power BI Working with Non-Standard TimeAnd Comparing Data Across Date Ranges
Proud to be a Datanaut Connect on Linkedin