Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

afu-iqair
Frequent Visitor

Filtering by month stops working for new year

I'm a complete novice to Power BI. I have been tasked with figuring out why a query doesn't work for months that land in 2024. I realize that without data this will be hard to figure out, but I'm hoping some feedback can get me on the right path to getting this solved.

Here's what the report view looks like:

unnamed.png

You can see that the data stops works at the "+3 Month" column, which will be January 2024.

Here's what the query looks like for the "+2 Month" column:

+2 Month = COALESCE( CALCULATE(SUM('Order Lines'[Quantity]), FILTER('Order',YEAR('Order'[Requested Delivery Date])=YEAR('Measures Table'[ESTDate]) && MONTH('Order'[Requested Delivery Date])=MONTH('Measures Table'[ESTDate])+2)),0)

The query that does not work for the "3+ Month" column is:

+3 Month = COALESCE( CALCULATE(SUM('Order Lines'[Quantity]), FILTER('Order',YEAR('Order'[Requested Delivery Date])=YEAR('Measures Table'[ESTDate]) && MONTH('Order'[Requested Delivery Date])=MONTH('Measures Table'[ESTDate])+3)),0)

If I remove the MONTH condition from the FILTER function, I do not get a NULL value, but of course that's not my goal. I did this simply to see where in the entire the query the issue exists.

+3 Month = COALESCE( CALCULATE(SUM('Order Lines'[Quantity]), FILTER('Order',YEAR('Order'[Requested Delivery Date])=YEAR('Measures Table'[ESTDate]))),0)

If I remove the YEAR condition from the FILTER function, and keep the MONTH, the query still returns NULL.

Thank you for any feedback you can provide with this issue.

10 REPLIES 10
littlemojopuppy
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @afu-iqair