Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ColinLusk

Error Connecting: The Remote Server Returned an Error: (400) Bad Request

I'm getting this error message in Dax Studio 2.10.2 trying to import data from a Power Bi workspace. 

I've tried following some solutions given in other posts in this forum but not been able to solve it. I'm a newbie though so apologies if this is an easy one:

A developer set up a workspace and gave me a connection url to use in Dax Studio to import it. The format is like this

powerbi://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/blah.xxxxx.com\My Data Report

The developer can do this so there can't be anything wrong with the report itself, but when I try it asks for a login and password then immediately follows with this message in red Error Connecting: The Remote Server Returned an Error: (400) Bad Request

I don't think I am doing anything wrong - I am doing just what the presenter of this video does https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-hoiNq9RfE

Things tried so far:

Try swapping the rogue "\" in the url for a "/"

Logging into Power BI Web (I can see the data just fine but can't download it as an Excel file because the icon is greyed out. DOes that mean anything?)

Asking the developer to adjust my rights so I have the same as him - and generally to do any other rights-related adjustments he can think of

Using a different computer (Windows 7 instead of Server 2016 - both x64) and a different user account (a corporate one matching my active directory login)

Installing Power BI desktop

Upgrading Excel Anaysis Toolpack and making sure I have it activated

Uninstalling and reinstalling DAX

Connect using SSMS18 gives me the exact same message, suggesting the problem isn't specific to DAX

Things that seem non-ideal but I can't really change