Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

ptencza
Frequent Visitor

Downloading a Sharepoint file into Power BI

I am quite new to Power BI and am the only one familiar with it at all at work; I am trying to connect a sharepoint folder to BI so I can create a report and just have it automatically refresh each month once I update the data within Sharepoint. I always go to Get data - More - Sharepoint folder - Upload Root URL - and hit load data. I end up getting an error message. 

I believe the data isn't pulling in because it is only allowing me to link to my root URL; I have seen videos where people are able to login to their company's sharepoint it and access it that way. I just put in my root URL for sharepoint and it tries to pull data directly from it as opposed to letting me clarify which folder has the excel file I need it to pull information from. 

Everyone who has tried to help shows me old links from 2016 to 2019 that don't work anymore. Please let me know if you have any advice on how to load my sharepoint or is able to show a tutorial of uploading it I would greatly appreciate it. I am trying to do this for work and no one else at my company knows BI

I posted the error that pops up below.

"Load
Query2
This query does not have any columns with the supported data types. It will be disabled from being loaded to the model."
10 REPLIES 10
ptencza
Frequent Visitor

@AlexisOlsonThank you for that! After following your instructions Power Query just took a very long time to load and never actually loaded. It accepted the query, and seemed like it was accessing Sharepoint, but it just continued to load for about 10 minutes without anything happening. It said loading "documents" and that it is waiting for the sharepoint to connect, but it will not finish loading so nothing happens