Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Newbie_sretatap
Frequent Visitor

Distinct count with datediff between column date and selected date value

Hi Team,

I am new to Power BI and is currently working on a calculation which I cannot figure out.

I am trying to count distinct number of employees from a fact table using the following calculated measure. 

employee_count_90days = calculate(distinctcount(employees[employee#]), FILTER(employees, employee_status = "Active" && DATEDIFF(employees[hire_date],selectedvalue(calendar[Date]),DAY) > 90))

What I need is to exclude the weekends from the calculation between the hire_date column and the selected date from the calendar slicer. 

Hoping for someone to help. 

5 REPLIES 5
v-henryk-mstf
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Newbie_sretatap ,

According to your description, two additional filters need to be added to exclude weekend dates. Refer to a similar test.

employee_count_90days =
CALCULATE (
    DISTINCTCOUNT ( employees[employee#] ),
    FILTER (
        employees,
        DATEDIFF ( employees[hire_date], SELECTEDVALUE ( calendar[Date] ), DAY ) > 90
            && employees[Col_week] <> 7
            && employees[Col_week] <> 6
    )
)
Col_weekday = WEEKDAY('employees'[hire_date])

vhenrykmstf_1-1652252492219.png

vhenrykmstf_0-1652252477139.png

If the problem is still not resolved, please provide detailed error information and test data. Looking forward to your reply.

Best Regards,
Henry

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi @v-henryk-mstf 

Thanks for the answer.