Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Namoh
Post Partisan
Post Partisan

Data in separate tables is ok, after combining them in 1 table, one of the 2 data is incorrect

Hi. I’m relatively new to PowerBi but slowly learning on the job.

I have the following issue.

I have three tables (more actually but for this problem these 3 are related):

• Calendar table
  • Target table
  • Actuals table

The Calendar table is linked to the Target table via a Date field, and the Calendar table is linked to the Actuals table via the same Date field (from table Calendar).

In table Target I’ve got a column with the facility names called: Werkeenheid.

In table Actuals I’ve got a column with the facility names called: ShortName.

I’ve created (with some help from here) a few DAX formulas to calculate my Actuals, Targets, YTD Actuals and YTD Targets.

When I put my Targets in a Matrix Table the numbers are ok, see figure 1.

Figure 1 targets.png

When I put my Actuals in a(nother) Matrix Table those numbers are also ok, see figure 2.

Figure 2 actuals.png

But when I put them together in 1 Matrix Table my Actual numbers are not correct anymore, see figure 3.

Figure 3 correct targets and wrong actuals.png

The sum is working, but the numbers are incorrect.

My assumption is that his is caused because the Actuals don’t have any relationship with the field Werkeenheid.

When I want to create a relationship between Target.Werkeenheid and Actuals.ShortName (will be a many-to-many) I get a message, see figure 4.

Figure 4_relationship_1.png

When I de-activate the relationship between Targets and ID names (the bottom one) it still gives me this error (I did save in between), see figure 5?

Figure 5_relationship_2.png