Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

ValeriaBreve
Post Patron
Post Patron

DAX Measure not working as expected when applied as filter for table

Hello,

disclaimer: I am not good at DAX!!!

So here's my issue: I want to hide dynamically a table when nothing is selected (in my case, "ProjectID" field).

So I created a measure to understand if my ProjectID is selected or not:

ProjectSelectCheck = IF(HASONEVALUE('MyTable'[ProjectID]),2,BLANK())
using "hasonevalue" and the ProjectID selected comes from another linked table so I need the cross-filtering power. It works well and as expected:
ValeriaBreve_0-1670322420933.png when nothing is selected

ValeriaBreve_1-1670322487173.pngwhen a project is selected

So next I am adding this measure as a filter to my table (visual) that has all ProjectIDs (I just left the ProjectID from the same table to test) and selecting ProjectSelectCheck=2.
I am then making sure that I uncheck "Show Items with no data" and I am not summarizing anything.

And.... nothing happens (visible at least). The measure is not working as expected, I still have all my ProjectIDs there.
When I check the filters for the table, I don't see anything else than the check so nothing to report there.
ValeriaBreve_2-1670323273708.png

And if I add the Measure to the table, it actually reads "2"! see screenshot below - card with the measure and measure coming from the table where I have my column with ProjectIDs.

ValeriaBreve_3-1670323519825.png

Does anybody have an idea what I am doing worng here? I can't understand this behaviour.

Thanks!
Kind regards
Valeria 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-jianboli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ValeriaBreve ,

Then function HASONEVALUE returns TRUE when the context for columnName has been filtered down to one distinct value only. Otherwise is FALSE.