Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

jnnilesh29
Helper III
Helper III

Cumulative Total till Certain Date

Hello Everyone, 

I'm new to PowerBI and trying to look for a DAX formula for the cumulative value till a certain month. 

I have a data till June 2021 but I want to show the cumulative value till May 2020 only. 

I'm using the following formula which is showing the all values

Cumulative Earned Labor Units = 
CALCULATE(
    [Planned Cost],
    FILTER(
        ALL('Calendar'[Date]),
        'Calendar'[Date]<=MAX('Calendar'[Date]
    )
))

jnnilesh29_0-1593297845763.png

Could somebody help me to show the cumulative value till May 2020 only?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks and Regards,

Nilesh Jain 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks Parvinder for you help.

2Cumulative Planned Labor Units = 
VAR __stopDate = DATE ( 2020, 05, 29 )
RETURN
CALCULATE (
      SUMX (
        FILTER ( 
            ALL ( 'Calendar'[Date] ), 
            'Calendar'[Date] <= MAX ( 'Calendar'[Date] )
        ),
        [Planned Cost]
    ),
    KEEPFILTERS ( 'Calendar'[Date] <= __stopDate )
)

The above code sent by you did work. I really appreciate your help. 

@parry2k 

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

Please try this expression

VAR __thismax =
    MAX ( 'Calendar'[Date] )
VAR __total =
    CALCULATE (
        [Planned Cost],
        FILTER ( ALL ( 'Calendar'[Date] ), 'Calendar'[Date] <= __thismax )
    )
RETURN
    IF ( __thismax <= DATE ( 2020, 5, 30 ), __total )

If this works for you, please mark it as the solution.  Kudos are appreciated too.  Please let me know if not.

Regards,

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube