Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

kliz
Regular Visitor

Cumulative Sum

Hello,
I am a beginner in powerbi and I want to compute the cumulative sum for each day, which includes the current day's sale amount and the cumulative sum of the previous day's sales. 
For example, let's say we have a table with columns for 'Date' and 'Amount':
Date                                                Amount
2024-04-01                                   100
2024-04-02                                   150
2024-04-03                                   200 
2024-04-04                                   120
The cumulative sum for each day would be:
For 2024-04-01: 100
For 2024-04-02: 100 (from 2024-04-01) + 150 = 250
For 2024-04-03: 250 (from 2024-04-02) + 200 = 450
For 2024-04-04: 450 (from 2024-04-03) + 120 = 570

How can i do that?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Tahreem24
Super User
Super User

@kliz YOu can try this measure, I took your example and generated the expected result.

Cumulative = CALCULATE(SUM(TabA[Value]),FILTER(ALL(TabA),TabA[Date]<=MAX('TabA'[Date])))

Tahreem24_0-1714409705415.png

Don't forget to give thumbs up and accept this as a solution if it helped you!!!

Please take a quick glance at newly created dashboards : Restaurant Management Dashboard , HR Analytics Report , Hotel Management Report, Sales Analysis Report , Fortune 500 Companies Analysis , Revenue Tracking Dashboard

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Tahreem24
Super User
Super User

@kliz YOu can try this measure, I took your example and generated the expected result.

Cumulative = CALCULATE(SUM(TabA[Value]),FILTER(ALL(TabA),TabA[Date]<=MAX('TabA'[Date])))

Tahreem24_0-1714409705415.png

Don't forget to give thumbs up and accept this as a solution if it helped you!!!