Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mcockram85
Regular Visitor

Creating a funnel with the ability to filter by Page URL/Name

Hi guys

I am pretty new to PowerBI and have bumped into an issue when trying to use the funnel visualisation to show the total number of visitors at each of the following stage:

1. Unique Website Visitors
  2. Engaged Website Visitors
  3. Applications
  4. Offers Made
  5. Firm Acceptances

I am struggling to get the above 5 columns from this dummy dataset/PBX file. into a useable format so that I can use them as steps for funnel to show the sum of people at each stage of the funnel.

I also want to be able to use the Page Name value as a filter/slicer within the report to be able to refine the funnel data to show me the values for a specific page.

The dummy dataset only has 21 pages but in reality we've got 1000+ different URLs that we'd want to be able to include and filter by.

If anyone is able to guide me on how best to approach this or point me in the direction of a resolution I'd be hugely appreciative.

All the best

Mack 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@HotChilli Yes that will work but I don't think it will be a scalable solution and that's why I didn't suggest that. Also with unpivot, you can filter for any stage and maybe there are other needs where this dataset will be used. 

With the current state (Pivoted table), if you have to create explicit measures (which is preferred), you have to do for each stage and think of, if there is another stage in the future, you have to come back to Power BI and add that stage measure in the visual whereas, with Unpviot, it doesn't matter if your stages changes in the future, it will still work.

Just my 2 cents.